Hello all you aspiring writers!

As a creative writing student, I struggled to find my ‘voice’. I looked everywhere, from the majestic hilltops of the Alps to the high-rises of Manhattan; from the resplendent mansions of aristocratic lords, to the yachting lifestyles of rich New Yorkers. In the end, I found it in a tiny village in the suburbs of my own existence.

ethnicity

It was right there, waiting for me all along, while I traipsed all over the globe, searching in all the wrong places. Finally, exasperated, I acted on the best advice I have ever received about writing: look closer to home ground for your stories. I did just that, and haven’t looked back since.

Voice, to me, is nothing if not my soul. We each have a story to tell, a story that no one but ourselves is best qualified to tell; it is in just such a story that lingers our voice.

About MariemAsif

A worshipper of words. Have a distinction in MA Creative and Professional Writing from Brunel University, London. Working on my novel.

Posted on March 25, 2011, in ethnic communities, native writers, writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Writing is not supposed to be left…:) never look back! Best of luck!

  2. fivereflections

    i enjoy your inspiration!

    David in Maine USA

Leave a Reply

Kouf

- ideas you might be scared of

Baaghi

Thoughts & Opinions of an Ordinary Woman of Pakistan

Dr Owais Karni's Blog

The world as i see...

Journeys to democracy

Blog by Pakistani journalist & documentary filmmaker Beena Sarwar

Taciturn's Blog

(all views expressed are my personal)

Lahore Nama

Searching for the city that was and that ought to be..

crawling from the wreckage

hear nothing, see nothing, say nothing

Five Reflections

Books, Stories, Songs, Poetry, Or Reminiscing

